Exfoliating the scalp…. Just thinking…..

 

stock-vector-crying-baby-girl-crying-small-child-vector-cartoon-illustration-of-cute-crying-baby-girl-51856987I’ve been thinking about my scalp lately. Most of my hair regimen is focused on my hair strands, my scalp not so much. When I’m clarifying and shampooing maybe, but not much.

One practice that has been done by many women here is kukwenyurwa musoro. I remember as a child I used to dread having this done, even more than having my hair combed. It’s basically getting a comb then rubbing, actually lightly scratching the scalp, removing dandruff and flakes. It’s simply exfoliation. I have always wondered though, if it was necessary or if the process didn’t actually harm the scalp. It does hurt depending on how sensitive your scalp is. I always hated it since I’m tender headed.

When you think about it though, we do exfoliate our face, hands and feet, so surely our scalps need to be exfoliated to remove the dead skin cells. Plus, massaging the scalp is beneficial in that it increases circulation in the scalp, possibly decreasing shedding and stimulating hair growth.

Our scalp needs some TLC too, especially with all the products and accumulation of dirt that go on it. Itchiness, dandruff, dryness and flakiness can all be aided with some gentle exfoliation.

I decided to consider less painful alternatives to exfoliate the scalp, probably before I co-wash my hair, so I can wash it out.

I saw the Organic Root Stimulator Scalp Scrub in the pharmacy the other day but I’m considering doing a DIY scrub instead:

  1. Brown sugar and extra virgin olive oil scrub – I would mix 1 tablespoon sugar to 1 tablespoon oil.
  2. Brown sugar, honey and lemon – the honey has powerful antioxidant and antimicrobial properties and lemon clarifies. A good mix is 1 teaspoon sugar, half a teaspoon honey and a few drops of lemon.
  3. Oatmeal and extra virgin olive oil/water scrub – mix oatmeal and oil or water to make a paste.

Do you exfoliate your scalp?

Categories: Hair tips, Natural products | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

