Hair Journal: Box Twists to Hair Out to Yarn Twists

Have been so eager to post about my hair and all things hair, but due to the usual connectivity issues found where I happily live, I had to patiently wait. Which as a lady on her natural hair journey, is something that I’m getting the hang of. Patiently waiting.

Anyway, I undid my box twists to reveal hair that is still growing, especially on my stubborn thin edges. Yay! My hair there is slowly filling in and I’m patiently waiting. When I detangled, washed my hair and conditioned it, along with the shedding ( I just don’t feel happy seeing shed hair no matter how normal it is ), my hair was black, shiny and strong. Oh and so soft, so I was very relieved. Adding to my relief was the fact that the few split ends I found when I still had my braids in, were not widespread in my hair. With a little extra tlc on my ends when the braids came out, it was all good.

I love having my hair out, although coming out with cute styles that still look neat for work can be a challenge for me. With my hair out, during the week, I usually do updos or french plaits and puffs. During the weekends, I tend to do more, although I’m a lazy styler. I wanted another protective style though because our winter was not over yet, so got yarn twists/genie locs which I intend to keep in for about 3 to 4 weeks.

So this month I went from:

2013-07-23-1852

                        TO                                 

My puffy puff puff...

My puffy puff puff…

To yarn twists! Which took me FOREVER  to plait.

Nearly done...

Nearly done…

                                  

Relieved to be done, finally...

Relieved to be done, finally…

 

Categories: My hair, Zimbabwean & African Natural Hair | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hair Journal: Box Twists to Hair Out to Yarn Twists

  1. Pingback: Box Braids! Part 1 | Tafi's Tresses

  2. Pingback: Box Braids! Part 2 | Tafi's Tresses

  3. Pingback: Yarn Twists / Yarn Braids / Yarn Wraps / Yarn Locs / Genie Locs Hairspiration Part 1 | Tafi's Tresses

Please comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

