The pros and cons of using yarn/wool in hair

2013-08-16-2077_2I haven’t seen many Zimbabwean women with yarn braids/twists etc but I have with women of other African nationalities, especially West and Central African ladies. I absolutely love them, although it’s only my second time getting them. So I decided to list the pros and cons of using yarn as a protective style:

PROS:

  1. Look like dreadlocks after a few weeks, so are more natural looking
  2. There’s room to be very creative and fun with the range of different colours acrylic yarn comes in
  3. Is gentler on hair than extensions and is lighter causing less stress to hair strands
  4. Able to keep moisture in longer than hair extension
  5. Hair can be washed, deep conditioned and treated in yarn twists/braids. In fact, washing makes the twists softer
  6. Inexpensive and yarn is easily accessible. One roll of wool in Bon Marche in Harare costs $1 of which I used three
  7. Is a protective style that can last weeks and even months if taken care of properly, but beware of hair actually locking

CONS:

  1. Can smell of mildew if not washed
  2. They easily collect lint, but this can be prevented by washing them, using a satin scarf or pillowcase at night and not using heavy cream or butter products in the hair. It’s better to use liquid based moisturisers
  3. They are heavy when wet

I haven’t had many problems with my yarn twists. Issues I had with box braids such as dry scalp, itchy scalp and scalp pain are non existent. I will review when I undo my yarn twists, but so far so good.

 

Categories: Hair tips, Protective Styles, Zimbabwean & African Natural Hair | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The pros and cons of using yarn/wool in hair

  1. Ann

    Nice article.
    How did you get on with the yarn? I want to give it a go 🙂

    • Thanks :-).
      I actually recently did a thicker ones, have them in now. I love them, and will blog on them soon.

Please comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

