Crochet Braids

I’m always on the lookout for new protective styles, as I usually have a protective style about 90% of the year.

Recently I’ve been thinking of getting crochet braids done. I’ve thought of doing them on my own, but I’m not great at plaiting cornrows on my head, let alone crocheting pieces of hair into them. So I’ve decided to search for hairdressers in Harare who do it, I heard that there are a few.

What is crochet braiding?
A crochet needle is used to weave packaged, usually synthetic, hair into natural hair that has been French braided or braided into corn rows. Crochet braids, despite the name, are actually closer to sew in weaves than actual braids.

What is the difference with sew-in weaving?
Sew-in weaves are hair extensions sewn into tracks, placing more tension on the hair. Crochet braids use crochet needles (latch hooks) to loop bulk pieces of hair extension onto cornrows.

Advantages
• Low cost and low maintenance way to protect hair
• Give better access to the scalp than other protective styles, such as sew-in weaves
• Don’t require hair glue or caps, making them easier on the scalp
• Place less stress on edges
• Look very natural, especially with natural looking extensions

Here are a few pics:

crochet braids 5 crochet crochet braids crochet braids 4 crochet 2 crochet braids 1 crochet braids 2 crocet cro crochet braids 3

All images can be found on the Tumblr page.

Categories: Hairspiration, Protective Styles | Tags: , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Crochet Braids

  1. Pingback: Always Loved the Look of Braiding on African Hair?

  2. nyara

    hi
    Love your blog, did u find someone to do the crotchet braids, i want to get them done but seems my usual braiders are clueless, I’m mostly into afro- kinky twists.i am also looking for the Marley braid so I can hot water curl it later on

    • I did actually. Afrokink salon, on east road, just behind avondale shops. I felt it was expensive though ($45 plus the extensions) and the choice of hair extensions to use was limited. If I find extensions I like, I might go back.
      I haven’t seen Marley braids, but again, I wasn’t really looking. If I find them, will definately give a shout.

      • Hi Tafi

        Absoluely love your blog. Wish more sisters would rock the natural look. Its generally cheaper, kinder on our hair and much cleaner…..

        i found marley braid along george sulundika U$D 15 a bundle you would need two but the texture seemed pretty good. Im currently rocking afro kinky but crotched marley is definately next. So thanks for the Afro kink Salon tip.

        Please keep looking for a dresser though 🙂

      • Thanks Millie, I definitely will….

  3. tata

    Hi.

    If you haven’t found marley Braid try angwa City. My friend says it’s fake but I don’t see the difference and then there’s the little store close to convent as if you are going towards ZDECO. Don’t know the road but I’m sure you can find it once you in that area.

    This is the first post I have read and I like it so I’m following now.

    Would someone know where to get the latch crotchet hook? I’m going to give it a try

    • Thanks Tata, I will try those shops. I also saw some at Sam Levy’s Village, but they only had blond left. It was a small shop upstairs, I have to check again the name, because they said they do stock it. I think it’s original.
      And thank you so much for following :-).

      • Shamiso

        Hey Tafi!

        Did you ever find out the name of the store at Sam Levy’s Village?

  4. Galaisha Goodhope

    Hello.

    I was wondering what type of hair is the girl using on the 3rd picture down?

  5. any craft shop would have them. walmart also

  6. Tamika

    What kind of hair is it in the third pic? I really love it and want that same texture

  7. That seems to be a popular pic, apparently it’s Marley hair

  8. makenna

    Is that $45 including their extensions? so whats the price if you bring your own extensions? great post im looking for someone to crotchet #theStruggle

    • Nope, $45 just the plaiting. Still looking around to see if I can find someone else who can crochet

      • Anonymous

        I found one. Terry at Terrys Salon cnr 6th and samora machel. $35. She did my hair and she was good she knows what she’s doing. Also made an enquiry at Afro Kink and they told me $35 so idk maybe they’ve now reduced their price.

      • Oh that’s great, will try Terry’s salon.

  9. Denese

    The 3rd pic, so loving it!!! Do you know if the hair comes like that or she had to curl it!!! Also the cut is nice!!! I would love to get that brand hair!!!

Please comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

