My self installed yarn twists

20141102_082914-1

 

So I plaited my own yarn twists, for the third time and if I do say so myself, they came out even better than last time.

My twists in 2013My yarn twists in 2013, were a thinner and shorter and took me about three days to put in.

I really wanted to do thicker and longer twists than the last time, but the thought of sitting for three days put me off. However, this time it took me less time, and I was pleased with the result.

My process

1. I bought a lot of wool, in the end I used about 8 rolls. I bought black and a bit of brown, so I could mix the two (looks more natural with my hair). Wool is easy to find and quite cheap, the wool sold in supermarkets is ideal for yarn braids. Other tools needed are a pair of scissors, lighter (and candle, I just find that easier) and a lot of patience.

I washed my hair, conditioned it, made sure to use protein as I always do before I put in a protective style. I then separated my hair into smaller sections of front sides, back sides, back centre, middle and fringe front.

20141023_201055-1

Sectioning

20141024_124729-1

Started from the back

20141025_151848-1

When tired…


    2. Had to section the wool too, into the length I wanted, which is another tedious      process. To plait one braid, I had 20 length pieces of wool, which I would then        bend in half to plait. With installing on to the hair, I started off with a three strand  braid ( I haven’t mastered doing the twist right from the scalp yet, although this  looks more natural).

 I twisted starting from the back, then sides, front and finished off with the middle.  When I got tired or needed to go out during this two day process, I used a scarf to cover the front.

 

 

 

20141025_202830-1

Still left with the middle at this stage

 

3. For the ends, I’d burn them using a candle.

20141102_083039-1

Done!

20141031_150524

20141115_133925

This is after about 3 weeks



I kept them in for about 4 weeks, although I would have kept them for 6 if my strands would just stay put.
I washed them twice, although I was worried about my hair locing when it shrunk in the twists, thankfully it wasn’t a hassle at all to undo.

 

 

Categories: My hair, Protective Styles, Zimbabwean & African Natural Hair | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please comment

Blog at WordPress.com.